Why is London so Fair Trade Friendly?

I returned from a week’s stint in London for business (highly recommend the Crowne Plaza near the Blackfriars station) a couple of weeks ago and have been, in my brother’s words, “going crazy snapping pictures with my camera phone of fair trade foods.”

Fairtrade Labeling Organization
(FLO) is the dominant label. If you happen to be in the job market, they are looking for a CEO. I did not get a chance to speak with anyone from the organization but my research shows that the Mayor’s, Ken Livingstone, campaign to make London a fair trade city on March 11, 2003, “dramatically increased the availability and take-up of Fairtrade
products by every Londoner, and make the city’s commitment to Fairtrade
visible and understood” by many.

One of the goals is for 50 percent of London boroughs to reach fair trade status which as of August 2005, five boroughs have achieved.


Above: Starting with Marks & Spencer’s (tagline: Look Behind the Label) near Teddington where I picked up organic, free-range eggs for breakfast.


“Our coffee won’t have a bitter taste in your mouth. It’s Fairtrade.”


“Our ready meals lack a certain something. Hydrogenated fats.” (An issue which the States is just grappling with and NYC has taken the lead to ban hydrogenated fats.)


Above: Sainsbury’s fair trade banner in Leeds where I was visiting my friends who I met via the British Aikido Association seven years ago.

Finally, fair trade products in Sainsbury’s near Teddington:


Traidcraft’s GeoBar


Traidcraft’s chocolate


Divine Chocolate

If we work hard at it in Austin, perhaps there’ll be a similiar display of fair trade coffee in HEB in the future:

::Update-Tracy is right, it’s not just London but the UK.

