A message from Indiana Jones

 

Hello everyone! My name is Baillee MaCloud Perkins, and I will be the Communication intern at Ten Thousand Villages this summer. I am a small town girl-cue the “Journey” music- looking to make a change in the world. When I was five, I wanted nothing more than to be the female Indiana Jones. I wrote to him numerous times with my trusty green crayon asking him when I would get my whip, satchel, and fedora so that I could travel the world with him to help save it. Although he did respond to my letters (with handwriting that had an uncanny resemblance to my mother’s), Indy’s replies crushed my hopes of becoming his helpful companion because he felt as though his adventures were too dangerous for a child. However, two things about the responses were constant. The first response was rather trivial and oddly reminded me to eat the vegetables that my mother worked so hard to prepare. The second response was a bit more profound in that Indiana always wrote, in his very feminine cursive, to strive to change the world.

On my 18th birthday in a 1990s minivan full of my worldly possessions, I took the advice that Indiana Jones had given me so many years ago and headed for St. Edward’s University in Austin to make a change in the world. I am now going into my third year at St. Ed’s, and I am beginning to realize how endless my possibilities to change the world are, so here I am. This is why I am here interning, and this is why I chose to intern at Ten Thousand Villages. I want to make a difference in the world, whether it be through word of mouth or social media. I am here because I fully support the ideas of fair trade promoted by Ten Thousand Villages. I want to write blog entries promoting the cause. I want to plan events to show how amazing fair trade really is. I want to be a voice for those who cannot speak for their own products. I want to fulfill my obligation to Indiana Jones and change the world one blog entry, social media quip, or event at a time.
Sincerely,
Baillee

