The Last Hoorah

Well y’all, this is it.  I’ve come to the end of another chapter of this crazy thing called life and this will be the last piece of social media gold you’ll hear from me as part of the Ten Thousand Villages family.  That’s right.  Corey, your fearless intern, is GRADUATING on May 11th and leaving Ten Thousand Villages of Austin as the Event Coordinator Intern.

Typing this blog post is bittersweet for me.  On one hand, I’m graduating college; something that I’ve put long hours and sleepless nights into for the last four years.  On the other hand, I’m leaving an amazing group of people in Austin here at Ten Thousand Villages.

32342-Troy-Community-my-emotions-gif-TUY9

Troy from “Community” knows how I feel right now.

Let me first start by saying thank you to all the amazing people I’ve worked with during my internship.  Kitty, Catherine, Jessica, Becky, and Becca were amazing from the first day I stepped in the store.  They were so welcoming, hospitable, and kind everyday I came into the store to help with the impact of fair trade.  Even when I was stressed out, sick, or just plain old tired from a long week of college they were always supportive and uplifting.  They made a “job” become fun.  Also, a thank you goes out to all the amazing volunteers that I’ve met during my internship.  I always looked forward to someone coming to the back of the store to mess with me and give me a hard time.

thank-you-i-try

Now that I have the thank you’s out of the way, I’d like to take some time to reflect on the things I’ve learned during my stay.  First the International Women’s Day event.  This event involved the most planning I’ve ever done in my life.  I swear I must’ve created at least a hundred documents consisting of nominee bios, research, ideas, and logistics for this event, but by for the most rewarding part was reading about and meeting all these amazing women around Austin that work so hard to make the world better.  IWD also challenged me to balance multiple projects at once.  Back at school I had papers and films to work on and other events like St. Edward’s Homecoming and the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship Watch Party to plan and execute. Although this was a lot on my plate, I was able to learn how to manage my time and delegate work better.  On top of becoming a better event coordinator, I learned how to interact with people better.  During my internship I met many new and different people.  Each one of them gave me a different perspective on how people will talk to me; some were nice and sincere while other gave attitude and were rude.  But, at the end of the day, they taught me how to keep a smile on my face no matter what.

efjsdBF;

But the main thing that Ten Thousand Villages has taught me was the impact of people.  Fair Trade shows what can happen when you set aside selfish actions and think about those who might not have so much.  Knowing that I was able to help those in other countries that are not as fortunate as me really made coming to the store so much easier and more enjoyable.

indian-dancing-meme-generator-sari-for-party-rocking-cea7e5

So once again, thank you everyone for this opportunity that has taught a lot about the “real world,” event planning, and how to be a better person.  I will miss all of my new friends here, and hopefully I will see you sooner rather than later.

Corey

