Greetings from the New Non-Profit Support Intern

Hello Villagers,IMG_5791

I am Tianran Chen (you can call me “Tia”) and I am excited to join the Ten Thousand Villages of Austin team as the new Non-Profit Support Intern for this summer. I really appreciate this opportunity to support Fair Trade and the mission of Ten Thousand Villages, and help our Austin store reach “the next level”!

I am from Wenzhou, Zhejiang, China, a coastal city in the southeast of China near Shanghai (Here’s a link to a website that I think introduces my home city very well: www.wenzhouguide.com).  wenzhou_at_night_2Though not a city comparable to some large metropolitan areas such as Shanghai, Beijing and Guangzhou, Wenzhou is a very unique city in China.  As a city with a long history dating back to thousands of years ago, Wenzhou is endowed with wonderful scenery and a splendid culture.  It is also known for its emigrants who left for mostly Europe and the United States with a reputation for being entrepreneurs around the world.  I will make you feel at home when you come to visit my home city one day!DSC03081

In January 2012, I transferred to UT Austin from Sun Yat-sen University in Southern China, where I studied Tourism Management.  Now I am a rising senior at UT Austin and will graduate in May 2014 with a degree in Economics and a minor in Accounting or Finance. I am also an editor of the Undergraduate Journal of Economics, treasurer of Omicron Delta Epsilon Economics Honor Society at UT Chapter, and a coworker for the Austin Chinese Campus Christian Fellowship at UT Austin.

I really enjoy my life here in Austin. There are always a lot of fun things to do in Austin, such as hiking, kayaking, IMG_2518visiting gardens, museums, and concerts.  I live in one of the coops at Colleges Houses, where I meet students from different countries and different cultures.  I am also an artistic amateur in drawing, photography, and playing the piano.  Currently I am learning to play the guitar and practicing hard to improve my skills.IMG_5807

I will be doing this internship from June until the end of August for the summer.  I will help with the Executive, Volunteer Coordinating, Communications, and Development facets of the store.  I hope to gain hands-on experience about managing aspects of a nonprofit organization, and step outside my normal comfort zone to develop my skills in a different country.  I am also fascinated by the amazingly beautiful craft works made by artisans from across the world, and feel so glad to be a part of Ten Thousand Villages team in contributing to helping them with their lives.

I look forward to meeting you.  I’ll never forget the people I meet here in Austin!

Sincerely,

Tia

