Love Me Some Social Media

Hey Villagers! My name is Katie Smith and I am representing Ten Thousand Villages here in Austin as the Social Media and Marketing Intern.  I would likeImage to take this time to introduce myself and tell you how much I love social media! Here we go.

I was born and raised in Houston and moved to Austin in 2010 to start college at the University of Texas.  I started as a civil engineer but recently changed my major to economics with a minor in math.  I am numbers orientated and seem to solve all of my problems in a calculated way.  My biggest fear is snakes and I love being outside.  Also if I had to choose to only eat tuna or ice cream for the rest of my life, I would pick tuna.

One thing you should know about me is my love for Austin.  I love this city more and more with each passing day.  From the atmosphere to the people, everything about Austin is captivating.  Austin has so much to offer and I am currently on a mission to explore every aspect of it.  This summer I made a list involving all things Austin – events, restaurants, outdoor activities, nightlife, etc all of which I plan to explore.  Here is a picture I took a few weeks ago when I went to see the bats under Congress Bridge for the first time!

Image

As I said I am at Ten Thousand Villages for Social Media and Marketing.  I enjoy social media and am excited to help raise awareness for Fair Trade here in Austin. I will be Tweeting, Blogging, Facebooking and doing any other forms of social media I can get my hands on. My goal is for our city to know that Ten Thousand Villages offers an educational and empowering alternative to retail shopping. I would love to see social media reach the people of Austin and for many to get involved and support us and fair  trade!

Thanks for your time! If you have any questions about social media/marketing or just want to say hey send me an email at sminternttv@gmail.com.  And don’t forget to follow Villages of Austin on twitter @AustinVillages or my personal account @katiesmith42

Hope to see you around the store!

Katie

