Hello Ten Thousand Villages!

My name’s Amar A. Gupta, and I’ll be interning with TTV for the next few months as the One Reason Why event coordinator intern.

Amar Pic

I’m 22 years young, made in America—with Indian parts. My hometown; Beaumont, Texas, has established its own place in my heart, and will forever be a part of me. I plan on moving to California shortly after graduation, and on to Copenhagen after that.

I’m a photojournalism major at St. Edwards University, and hope to work for Vice Magazine later on. I’ve been documenting my friends and I through photographs for the past few years, and it has ultimately led me to where I am today. My photos can be found on my blog, and my flickr. I’m also an avid skateboarder, writer, and racquetball player. I’m captivated by writers and poets, and I truly believe that  “What matters most is how well you walk through the fire,” which is the last line in Bukowski’s “How is your Heart?”

Skateboard Pic
My number one priority in life is to be a good, helpful person, and it’s those ambitions that brought me to Ten Thousand Villages Austin.  Villages of Austin attracted my attention when I realized how passionate they were about helping others less fortunate than us. I’m proud to say that the company I work for aids underemployed artisans make living incomes. I’m a huge fan of the fair trade system, and I feel that putting hours of work into an ethical company like Ten Thousand Villages can really help make a difference.

I’m excited to see how far we can go with this years’ gala, and I will do my very best to make it a success.

