Hello to All You Villagers

My name is Nicole, and I am joining Allison on the Social Media & Marketing team. Ten Thousand Villages’ fair trade mission is inspiring, and I am excited to support it during my next few months here.

I was born and raised in Portland, Oregon, and I ventured down south for school.  I am currently a sophomore at UT double majoring in the Business Honors Program and Plan II Honors, and I am Pre-Med as well. My ultimate goal is to become a naturopathic physician, but in the mean time I am here enjoying the great things Austin has to offer.

Halloween at the Tower

Happy (almost) Halloween!

Some of my favorite things to do outside of school are explore the city on my bike, see movies at the Alamo Drafthouse (along with drink their delicious shakes), go to live music events, and discover new restaurants. I moved from one foodie city to another, so I have developed a fond relationship with great food. Below is a picture of one of my favorite burgers at Blue Hour in Portland.

Blue Hour

This past summer, I had the great opportunity to study supply chain management abroad in Hong Kong. During the trip, I visited four factories in Mainland China that made products such as baby dolls, pet toys, jeans, melamine plates, and calculators. Experiencing the complete global supply chain of some everyday products opened my eyes to the detailed and intense process that so much of our stuff goes through. Even at the more reputable factories that let us tour inside, the workers had far from ideal conditions, standing all day in smoldering heat around dangerous equipment. Ten Thousand Villages helps keep talented artisans employed with good jobs, allowing them to live better lives. My experience abroad is one of the reasons I was inclined to get involved with this great organization.

While abroad, I also spent a weekend in Thailand and had an amazing experience. It is definitely on my list of places to go back to when I have more time. Below are a couple of my favorite pictures from there.

Thailand Elephant BabyJaguar

As an intern, I am most excited to learn the stories of the diverse artisans Ten Thousand Villages of Austin supports. There is so much culture packed into this little store. On the other hand, I am most worried about the delicious and tempting fair trade chocolate offered here. Chocolate is my weakness, and now I have an excuse to indulge: I’m helping a good cause.

I look forward to sharing everything I learn with y’all, as well as all the opportunities and events that Ten Thousand Villages offers.

All the best,

Nicole

