Guide for Fair Trade Gifting

It is snowing on our blog!  Can you believe that Christmas is less than 2 weeks away?  If you are like me, you still have a few important people left on your holiday shopping list.

I love Christmas, as is it one of the few times of the year that I get to spend time with all my brothers and sisters.  I am the baby of my family, so the days of huge piles of presents under the tree are over.  We care more about catching up and enjoying the time together, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to come home with some special gifts for the most special people in my life!

Just in case my mom or any other family members are reading right now, I’m not giving away any surprises by including names (sorry!), but I hope I can inspire YOU to include some Fair Trade goodness under your tree this year!

photo 3

One of my family members is a huge bookworm.  She loves inspirational stories and always sends me home with a book or two every time we get together.   This Christmas, I want to make sure she is warm and cozy when she snuggles up with her favorite book with a beautiful blanket made from recycled saris.  A couple new quirky bookmarks and a fun little face to hold her reading glasses at the end of the day will make the perfect, thoughtful gift for my reader and yours as well.

photo 4

I hope we are all lucky enough to have people in our family that love to cook.   I have a certain chef in my family that has made huge changes to cook fresher, healthier foods, and has achieved a huge weight loss in the process!  When I found Simply in Season, I immediately thought it would make a great gift for any of us who enjoy cooking fresh and delicious food.  Some great new recipes paired with Kenyan wooden servers to spice up any salad and a great new apron with put a smile on any foodie’s face!

photo 1

Being the baby of the family (and not much of a baby anymore), I am so excited to have some new little ones to shop for this Christmas!  Several of my friends have welcomed new additions this year, and I have a handful of new nieces and nephews that I can’t wait to spoil.  Christmas puppets, books, puzzles, and musical instruments will all be under the tree from Auntie Allison.

photo 2

This is first year that I will be adding work colleagues to my holiday shopping list.  I work in a small office, so I wanted something personal that my boss and work friends could enjoy into the next year.  I thought that one of our beautiful wall hangings would bring a pop of color to our little space, and a lunch tin and warm scarf would make each workday a little more fun.

photo 5

We all know someone who is a tough cookie to shop for.  That’s why I am so happy that Ten Thousand Villages has gift baskets this year!  Our very own Kitty Bird has assembled beautiful gift sets that include some of the best Fair Trade sweets and treats our store has to offer!  Perfect for the Hostess with the Mostess, teachers, Secret Santas, and more!  Each gift basket is unique, and some are even come wrapped in recycled saris; now that’s a gift that keeps on giving!

What Fair Trade pieces are you gifting this year?  What are you hoping to unwrap on Christmas morning?  Be sure to leave me a comment and let me know!  Happy shopping and happy holidays!

