An Exciting New Event Support Intern Introduction

Hi Austin Villagers!

My name is Tori Jimenez, and I am super excited to introduce myself as this semester’s Event Support Intern. I am so blessed to have this opportunity and I can’t wait to start working hard for this awesome store!

I am originally from Texas in a small town outside of the San Antonio area. After graduating, I decided to attend St. Edward’s University, which I regard as one of my best decisions to date. I am currently a freshman striving towards a Bachelor of Fine Arts degree in Acting. I already have quite a background in event planning that I contribute to my work in theatre and countless organizational involvement with school activities. I love promoting great causes, and I think that events are the perfect opportunity to spread the word of a wonderful organization while having a great time. I mean, how much better can you get than that?Image

Although I am absolutely in love with theatre and everything it has to offer, I am also passionate about many other things. I am very enthusiastic about doing work that supports people in other countries, which is what initially sparked my interest in Ten Thousand Villages.

Pictured here is me with some sweet school children on a mission trip that I went on to Honduras to increase educational opportunities in Honduran schools by giving the children access to XO laptops. It was a wonderful trip, and completely transformed my outlook on the world. It is so easy to take for granted minimal things that society hardly even thinks twice about, such as clean water or a warm meal. After seeing first-hand the staples that so many people lack, I jumped at the chance to begin making a difference in my own community. As a result of this trip, I have been trying to get as involved as I can with organizations that help immigrants and people in other countries to have as many opportunities as possible.

I hope to be able to contribute exciting and innovative ideas while working here at Ten Thousand Villages, and I am looking forward to working with the amazing staff that surrounds me.

~Tori

