Beautiful, Beautiful Spring!

I don’t know about you, but the early days of spring always remind me how much I love bright, beautiful colors and how much I enjoy cartwheels. Spring makes me crave any and all outside activities. But, in all honesty, more than outside activities spring makes me crave cute, bright accessories.

Do we even need to discuss how beautiful these colors are?

Do we even need to discuss how beautiful these colors are?

Like these colorful sarongs from Nepal! I know, sarongs usually scream beach- but hear me out: Think of picnics at Zilker, snacking on delicious strawberries and fresh-squeezed juice. And, since this is my daydream, let’s go ahead and add a cute little dog running around. Or throwing one on top of your bed for a quick pop of color. Such an easy way to update your room and add some warmth after this long, cold winter. Or you can go for a fabulous everyday look. Like this!

So cute!

So cute!

Despite the (hopefully!) beautiful weather that comes with spring, so does the rain. Those days best spent curling up on the couch watching Netflix can be exponentially improved* by kitting. This awesome knitting pack from Nepal comes with everything you need for those cute knitted headbands that will keep your ears warm next cold-season. Now, I know it’s a little early to start knitting for winter, but if you’re anything like me, it’ll take six to eight months to get it done so it’s important to get started early. Most importantly, I can’t stop thinking of how cute that bowl will look sitting in my living room and how fabulous I’ll sound when I tell my friends I’m ‘working on my knitting.’ *scientifically proven fact

How many scented soaps are too many scented soaps?

How many scented soaps are too many scented soaps?

After this unusually cold and long winter, we need to be pampered. We need to feel like we didn’t have to brave the cold and rain and frozen roads (because Texans are not built for cold and rain and frozen roads, we are built for year round Snow Cones!). A good way to get back in touch with our warm-weather roots is through little luxuries. Little luxuries like soft, scented soaps. All of these soaps were handcrafted by Indian artisans without any pesky, harmful chemicals. If a long, awesome bath with lavender soap doesn’t leave you feeling ready for pool days and wandering amongst the bluebonnets, nothing will*. *scientifically proven fact

Yes, that is the world's cutest giant dragonfly.

Yes, that is the world’s cutest giant dragonfly.

Do I even need to explain why I’m in love with this bird house? It’s made of wool, it’s environmentally friendly, and it’s going to make my balcony look precious. If anyone needs any more explanation please refer them to the precious giant dragonlfy —–>   Most importantly, not only is this bird home and everything else fantastic, they’re also all fair trade items. They were all handmade by artisans in developing countries and they were all paid living wages which will allow them to sustain themselves and their families. It’s nice to own cute things, but it’s even nicer to know that these cute things have helped a community, rather than contribute to worldwide poverty. **Pretty positive none of the scientifically proven facts I gave y’all are actually based on scientific studies. But there’s definitely an argument to be made with those soaps.

Enjoy spring!

