Dream BIG this Fair Tuesday

What is Fair Trade and why do we care? It is a story that uplifts people, families and communities out of poverty through the means of a globalized market place. A market places that cares about the well-being of people and the earth. Fair trade improves lives by creating fair wages for workers, safe working conditions and ensures environmental protection.

peruvian fair tuesday

My name is Bethany, if you know me, you know that I am a dreamer. (Let me tell you, my day dreams are something else.) I create grandiose ideas of decadent wealth and abundance for all. I love people and I love this earth so much, I just want to see everyone flourish! I have a dream (not to take away from Martin Luther King but to add to that dream) of equality for all, where people are treated with dignity and love no matter where they are from or their background.

Fair trade is a means to that end. Kids are now able to attend school, mothers are able to put food on the table for their families and people feel a sense of purpose where that was not a possibility before fair trade in many communities.

So, what is the call to action for my big dream of love and equality for all? Fair Tuesday is the answer. Let’s talk about Fair Tuesday, it is the response to Black Friday and Cyber Monday that is focused just on fair trade items. Items such as clothes, coffee, chocolate and home goods. Fair Tuesday falls on December 2nd of this year.   It is the easiest and most effective way to enact change now.

fair tuesday2

Fair Tuesday and buying fair trade empowers you as a consumer. With your dollars you vote for a better work environment with fair wages where all the love can be spread. (Like I said, I dream big.) This is so easy, who would have known that changing the world would be as easy as sitting on your couch with your computer clicking on the next purchase. The next purchase being fair trade that is. Ten Thousand Villages is where you can buy fair trade online plus there are many different locations throughout the country too.

I want to leave you with a feeling of empowerment. You can change this world for the better and spread the love and wealth around to all, through one purchase. Shop Fair Trade on Fair Tuesday, December 2nd 2014.

You can read more from Bethany HERE!

