My Week in Fair Trade, for World Fair Trade Day 2015!

World Fair Trade Day is coming up this Saturday, and to celebrate we’re throwing a party AND running a photo competition! Through our World Fair Trade Day Photo Challenge, we want our community to show and share the fairtrade choices they make every day for a chance to win a $50 gift card to our store. Our winner will be announced this Saturday, on World Fair Trade Day at the Grand Opening of our new store!

In the spirit of sharing our fair trade choices, I’ve put together my Last Week in Fair Trade (April 25-May 1). It’ll make you realize how fun and easy being fair trade can be!

April 25 – It’s my friend’s birthday! He loves red wine, so I gifted him a bottle in a fair trade, sari wine bag made in Bangladesh. At only $8, this wine bag made my gift look extra special without breaking the bank, and provided economic opportunities to women in Bangladesh!

April 26 – After all the birthday celebrations the night before, I was needing a bit of a pick me up by Sunday afternoon! I’ve been loving High Brew Coffee‘s iced coffee cans for times like these; they’re easy to grab and go, and perk you up with ethical energy.

Fairtrade watermelon - perfect for a refreshing Agua Fresca on a hot day!

Fairtrade watermelon – yum!

April 27 – Monday was a beautiful day, so I spent the afternoon working up a thirst on the local Pitch and Putt golf course. On the way home, we stopped by Whole Foods – a wonderful source for lots of edible and wearable fair trade goodies – and I picked up my first ever Fairtrade Certified watermelon! It was DELICIOUS, and tasted even better knowing that the farmers who grew it earned a fair wage for their work!

 
April 28 – Tuesday is the start of my work week, so I brewed up a pot of Equal Exchange Love Buzz coffee to get my week started right. At the Villages, we stock a wide range of whole bean, fairly traded coffees, and we’re able to grind your coffee exactly how you like it while you shop.

 

Matching Sseko Sandals on the new Ten Thousand Villages welcome mat!

Our matching Sseko Sandals!

 

April 29 – I managed to squeeze three fairly traded items into one outfit today! My necklace was made fairly in Cambodia for Oxfam Shop, with whom we share many artisan partners here at Ten Thousand Villages. My fair trade backpack was from the Villages via Unique Batik, and I wore my Sseko Sandals – in fact, all three of the Villages staff in store that day had their Ssekos on!

 

 

 

Chocolate Bar

Find your new favorite!

 

April 30 – I will tell you, working in close proximity to a well stocked range of Equal Exchange Chocolate can be very dangerous! Today, during a post-lunch slump, I tried a bar of their Panama 80% Extra Dark – and I have to say, it’s a new favorite! Super intense flavor balanced with an awesome creaminess. 10/10, would chocolate again. Side note, have you checked out our new Fair Trade Chocolate Bar in the store? If not, why not?!

 

My much loved, fairly traded treasures from Guatemala via Ten Thousand Villages, Purse & Clutch and Teysha!

Fairly traded treasures

 

 

May 1 – It’s May already?! That means our Grand Opening World Fair Trade Day Party is only 8 DAYS AWAY! That was an exciting Friday revelation for me. I celebrated May Day at Sahara Lounge with a bunch of awesome Villages volunteers, wearing my colorful Teysha boots (excellent for dancing in!) and my handy Guatemalan clutch from Purse & Clutch.

 

 

 

So there you have it – my Week in Fair Trade. Swapping a few key items in your daily routine for fair trade alternatives is an easy and fun way to make a real impact in the world. Your consumer choices can really make a difference – so start making the switch to fair trade today, if you haven’t already!

Most importantly, don’t forget to SHARE your fair trade journey with us – you could win a $50 gift card! Tag Ten Thousand Villages of Austin in your Facebook pics, or @austinvillages on Instagram and Twitter, with the hashtags #fairtradeatx and #wftd2015 to join the fun!

