Mallory Koch: Ten Thousand Villages Social Media Intern

DCIM100GOPROHello everyone! My name is Mallory Koch and I am the new Social Media Intern for Ten Thousand Villages! I am a Texas gal born and raised and I am currently attending St. Edward’s University majoring in Communication and specializing in Public Relations and Advertising. I enjoy journaling, music, dogs, coffee, community service, and making others happy. Music is and has been a big part of my life and I taught myself guitar, piano, and ukulele. I also sing and write songs here and there.

I have always had a love for volunteering and community service and now it has become such a huge part of my life. Over the past couple of years I have volunteered with 6 different organizations: one in Arizona, one in Canada, and the rest in Texas. One of my favorite things to do while volunteering is to create connections with people that I work with and learn their stories.

I heard of Ten Thousand Villages through a friend, researched the organization, and immediately fell in love with the stories behind the creation of the beautiful handcrafted products so perfectly displayed in the store. Every time I walk into the new store, I feel like I could walk around for hours, reading artisans’ stories and looking at all the products that are so intricate and detailed. When you walk in and hear the mission of Ten Thousand Villages, you immediately feel this connection – whether it be with an artisan from across the world, or with a product that has created a memory or has given you hope or inspiration. I knew very little about Fair Trade until I heard of Ten Thousand Villages and I’m so excited to learn more.

I love that Ten Thousand Villages is fair trade because I think it is important that the artisans who create these beautiful products are recognized, receive the funding to create the products, and receive funding for further education, or to even help their families as well. This semester I am hoping to learn more about this organization, learn about materials used to create new products that will be sold, and be able to share stories about fair trade to others. I look forward to sharing products with you and showing how they can be beneficial in your life as well as mine!

