Introducing Event Intern, Alexa Clinton!

Hi, I’m Alexa Clinton! I am a rising senior at Cedar Park high school. I participate in almost every club and organization at my school. Multitasking, being involved, as well as reaping results fuels me as a person. I love the arts and participate in visual arts and performing arts. I spend most of my free time playing ukulele or writing college essays. This summer I decided it was time to give my attention to a bigger cause.

IMG_0642
I found Ten Thousand Villages through VolunteerMatch. When I researched the organization and saw all of the cool artisan crafts, I was intrigued. And then I read the mission, and knew it was the right place for me to spend my energy and time this summer. I feel like working with Ten Thousand Villages allows me to help people worldwide from right here in Austin. I, for one, love shopping and the store allows me to purchase gifts and items that not only look cute but help people around the world, while building awareness around fair trade.

My Event and Fundraising internship allows me to promote Ten Thousand Villages within Austin, as well as planning fun and engaging events. I think its important to learn about different cultures and economies around the world, and I’m excited that this internship gives me the opportunity to gain hands on experience with like-minded people. I’m looking forward to helping Ten Thousand Villages accomplish its goals!

